top of page

From Tampa Bay to the Thames: Palaces and Chocolate and Potter, Oh My!

This week has been full of adventure. I went to Kensington Palace (home of Kate and Wils), had my first UK fish and chips, went to Platform 9 3/4, Cadbury World and Hampton Court. Phew!

These fish & chips were from Rock & Sole Plaice in Covent Garden. I got the plaice with curry sauce on the side to dip my chips in. While they weren't my favorite, they were still very good for my first fish & chips of the semester. Anyone have any suggestions for another place to try?

On Friday, my roommate and I went to Kensington Palace to discover the place where Queen Victoria grew up. I love Queen Victoria and I actually wrote a paper freshman year of high school about her growing up and her ascension to the throne. The Palace itself is gorgeous and I love learning more about the different monarchs that lived there.

Saturday night a group of us went to King's Cross to see Platform 9 3/4, which was a dream come true! In March I am going to the Harry Potter Studio Tour (unfortunately before the Forbidden Forest opens) and I am so excited. If the tattoo wasn't a give away I am a huge fan of Harry Potter, and I love being in the city where it partly takes place in.

Now Cadbury World was weird. Maybe it was because I don't know the brand characters? But there were so many characters and I didn't know what was going on. At least I got free chocolate and it was cool to learn about the creation of Cadbury.

The trip was actually for my PR class and the whole idea of the trip was to discuss the Corporate Social Responsibility of the company. How the Cadbury family built Bournville for their factory and as a home for their workers. The founders wanted to create a town for their workers to live and work in. They built parks and swimming pools, and encouraged workers to be their best selves. Even today, Cadbury is still giving back to the community and making sure the entire supply chain is ethical.

Finally, today I went to Hampton Court Palace. Now I am obsessed with the Tudors and I have been since I first read Horrible Histories Terrible Tudors. Since then I have listened, read and watched anything about the Tudors. It was a dream to come back here. While the day was a bit chilly and rainy, the palace was warm due to the thick brick walls.

My favorite part of the palace was King Henry VIII's apartments and the Great Hall itself. There is so much history in the hall and it is fantastic that it has been preserved as well as it has. You can imagine the grand banquets that took place there and Henry as lord of it all. At the bookshop I bought Elizabeth's Women by Tracy Borman. I'll let you all know how I find it!

Now here are some other photos from the week! Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

bottom of page