top of page

Going Back to Hogwarts . . .


Like many Harry Potter fans, I was eagerly awaiting the publication of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. So on the morning of Harry and JK Rowling's birthday, I went to Barnes & Noble and picked up the eighth Harry Potter book.

I remember getting Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows back in 2007. I was 10 years old and at sleep-away camp for two weeks. Deathly Hallows was released on the last day of camp. I remember waiting for my dad at the camp gates because I knew that either he would have it already, or we would get it straight away. I remember my dad, driving through the entrance holding the last Harry Potter book out of the window. All the girls started screaming at the sight of it. I jumped down from the gate, ran over to the car, grabbed the book, and immediately started reading. I read that book in less than 24 hours. I remember feeling empty afterwards because it was over. There was nothing more of Harry, Ron and Hermione. What were there lives like post-Voldemort? How does Harry interact with people when there isn't the imminent threat of death looming over him? What houses do their children get sorted into?

Cursed Child filled that emptiness for the blissful 12 hours in which I was reading it. As I sat on the bus or on my break, I was eating up the story. It answers all of my questions and more. I love that Albus was sorted into Slytherin, I love that he and Scorpious are best friends, and I love that Harry finally gets in touch with his emotions and memories of Dumbledore, Privet Drive, and Voldemort. We see Harry in a new light, he and his family face challenges that all of us can relate to. Facing our demons, family fights, and finding out how you fit with the rest of the world. Cursed Child is everything I could have ever wanted in an epilogue story: new characters, return of beloved ones, a great adventure and many twists and turns inherent in a Harry Potter story.

But now, I am done with it. It is the same emptiness I felt 9 years ago and I don't know what will fill it. While Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them will help, I grew up with the Golden Trio and their story. And now it is really over as Rowling says that this is the last book about Harry and his story. But as she once wisely said: “Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” So now I will be re-reading my worn copies of Harry Potter and re-watching those great films, so that I can go back to Hogwarts.


bottom of page